RSS Feed

Sweet Kickin’ Pork

Posted on

IMG_0850
First of all, let me apologize for my long delay in updating this food blog. Which probably means no one is reading anymore. But this summer was a time of major change at work, which kept me extremely preoccupied. Now that things have settled a bit, I will try to pick up where I left off. So, on that note, here’s a new recipe.

I’m always looking for more exciting ways to cook different kinds of meat for dinner. This is a recipe my mom stumbled onto several years ago that my entire family makes fairly often. There is not an exact science to this recipe, but here’s what I do.

Sweet Kickin’ Pork
1 pork loin (I’m ususally cooking a smaller one to feed just a few people, but this recipe can be adjusted to whatever size you need)
1 bottle of Heinz Chili Sauce (it’s right next to the ketchup on the condiment aisle.)
12-15 oz. of Root Beer (I used diet root beer last time and couldn’t tell any difference at all. Huge reduction in calories.)

My pork loin ususally comes from the freezer, which is good for me because I need it to cook slowly all day while I”m at work. Having it frozen keeps it from overcooking. Drop it in your large crock-pot and cover the bottom of the pot in a few ounces of rootbeer. Put your crock-pot on the 8 or 10 hour setting, or low, and leave it. When you return several hours later, the pork will be falling apart in a string-like way and will smell delicious.

In a sauce pan, combine your jar of chili sauce and the rest of your root beer over high heat. Let it come to a boil and then let it simmer for at least half an hour (stirring often) so that it reduces to a sauce-like thickness. That’s it! Just pour the sauce right over the pork and serve with a side of your favorite veggies. It’s great with sweet potatoes cooked any way you like.

Leave a Reply

