RSS Feed

Cinnamon Ring

Posted on

IMG_0910

When I have to take a dish somewhere, I always avoid using a recipe I’ve never made before. But when I needed to take a breakfast item to Sunday School recently, I broke my rule.  Actually, I just didn’t have a breakfast recipe on file that I really loved. But I do now. After spending some time scouring the cookbooks on my shelves, I stumbled onto this recipe out of a cookbook put together by a women’s church group in Dawson, Ga., a small city just outside Albany, Ga., where I lived for several years. It’s no secret that cookbooks like this one always have some of the best recipes you’ll find. This Cinnamon Ring didn’t disappoint. The recipe is similar to Monkey Bread recipes, but with the addition of cream cheese. I was really worried that it wouldn’t cook all the way through, but it did and, I think, it turned out beautifully. There wasn’t a crumb left at the end of class. Enjoy! 

Cinnamon Ring
Easy and may be prepared ahead

1 (8oz.) package cream cheese
2 large cans buttermilk biscuits
1 cup cinnamon sugar (2-3 teaspoons cinnamon mixed with sugar)
1/2 cup margarine (I used a stick of real butter)
1/2 cup chopped nuts

Cut cream cheese into 20 cubes. Flatten biscuits; put cube of cream cheese and 1 teaspoon cinnamon sugar in each and roll into balls. Melt margarine in Bundt pan. Sprinkle 1/4-1/3 cup cinnamon sugar and half of nuts in the margarine. Put 10 biscuit balls into mixture. Sprinkle 1/4 cup cinnamon sugar and the rest of the nuts on top of the biscuits, pressing nuts into the biscuits, if necessary. Put other 10 biscuits on top. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-30 minutes or until golden brown. Turn out on plate, cool slightly and slice.

*Recipe provided by Mrs. Billy Thaxton (Gail) and listed on page 51 of A Standing Invitation to Gracious Southern Livingcookbook distributed by the Dawson United Methodist Women of Dawson, Ga.

One response »

  1. This did turn out wonderful Brannon! Thanks so much for bringing it to class! Yum-o!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

